• Categories

  • Archives

Some Hams Discovering the Free Radio Network FRN

I recently I was talking to Louisiana Ham Radio Operator K5HUM. He asked me if I had any knowledge of a Free Radio Network. I told him I vaguely remembered seeing something about that one time but that was all. Anyway, I looked into it and discovered that it was realy a service that provided software allowing you to use various ham and non ham radios to communicate. Although there was a lot of nets in Europe there weren’t many listed in the U.S.

I downloaded the client software and tried it out and it seemed to work ok but didn’t see too many that I would be able to talk with. I then downloaded the Server software and installed it. Now I am running a “PC Only” FRN server. The network address is w1pi.servebeer.com, port 10026, net01.  Actually Mike K5HUM was the first in our group to have a server and now we servers online by myself and also K0ATM, Joel, in MO. Our servers are strictly PC Only using VOIP, but you could easily used the software vhf or uhf transceivers.

Software and instruction is available at: http://freeradionetwork.eu/ Check it out and good luck. 

K5HUM’s Briefing Wiki

Check out the Briefing page on

A lot of very interesting information.